Every state has its own laws that set time limits for filing civil lawsuits. These are called statutes of limitations. When an injured person fails to file a lawsuit within the allowed time period, they lose the right to sue. It is thus very important that wrongfully injured people learn their rights as soon as possible following an injury.
Statute of Limitations For New Jersey Personal Injury Claims
New Jersey has a 2 year statute of limitations for personal injury lawsuits including, but not limited to, claims for Negligence, Automobile Accidents, Premises Liability, Products Liability and Wrongful Death. This means that a wrongfully injured person must file a lawsuit against the parties who caused their injury within 2 years of the time the injury accrues. In this regard, the clock starts ticking either when the person discovers the injury, or when they reasonably should have discovered the injury. In motor vehicle accidents or slip and fall cases involving obvious and instantaneous injuries, such as a broken bone or torn ligament, the statue of limitations begins to run on the date of the incident. In other cases involving latent injuries that do not manifest until many years after the injury-causing event, such as cancer caused by exposure to toxic chemicals, the statute of limitations does not begin to run until the time the injured person discovers or should have discovered the injury.
There are various other nuances to the applicable laws that may affect the time that injured individuals have to file a lawsuit. If you have been wrongfully injured due to the negligence of another, you should contact an experienced New Jersey Personal Injury Lawyer to learn your rights and preserve your ability to pursue a claim.